With Margins Still Rigid, Opposition Leading in Jharkhand

Jharkhand Election | Raghubar Das and Hemant Soren

Jharkhand recently completed its assembly elections across five phases and the results of the elections are to be announced today. Trends from the Election Commission reveal that he Jharkhand Mukti-Morcha-Congress-RJD alliance is leading in 42 seats, while the BJP leads in just 29 seats. A party or alliance requires 41 seats to win and establish a government in Jharkhand. Jharkhand is seeing the Opposition’s chief ministerial candidate as Hemant Soren and the BJP’s CM candidate is Raghubar Das.

The counting for the elations began at 8 am this morning. Three exit polls reveal that a certain victory is in place for the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance in what would be a major set back for the BJP. The alliance based its election campaign as well as political agenda mainly on local issues while the BJP’s election campaign was based on the contentious national issues including the Citizenship(Amendment) Act and the National Register for Citizens.

The BJP fought the elections on its own for the first time after its partners backed off in the last minute.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here