Despite JD(U)’s Disappointing Performance, NDA Elects Nitish Kumar for Fourth Term in Bihar 

Nitish Kumar is all set to return to Bihar as its Chief Minister for the fourth term even as JD(U)’s tally of 43, is so far its worst performance since 2005. 

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar

The much anticipated Bihar Assembly elections are finally over and JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar has been unanimously elected as the leader of the NDA at a legislature party meeting at Patna. And it has been agreed upon that Nitish Kumar will become the next chief minister of Bihar. This will be Nitish Kumar’s fourth term as the chief minister of Bihar. While JD(U)leader Nitish Kumar is going to become the chief minister of Bihar for the fourth term, BJP’s Sushil Modi will continue as the deputy chief minister of Bihar. The NDA will have to approach the governor to stake claim to form the next government in Bihar. The meeting was attended by NDA leaders from JD(U), BJP, HAM(S) and VIP parties. This meeting was conducted just two days after Nitish Kumar had handed over his resignation of his ministry to the Governor and recommendation to dissolve the state assembly. Taking a jibe at NDA leader Nitish Kumar, RJD leader Manoj Jha noted, “How can someone become Chief Minister after getting 40 seats? People’s mandate is against him, he is decimated and should decide on it. Bihar will find its alternative, which will be spontaneous. It might take a week, ten days, or even a month but it will happen.”

The NDA had won 125 seats in the 243 member Bihar Assembly and the Grand Alliance had got 110. Many new reports had expressed that Nitish Kumar has been showing his unwillingness to continue as the chief minster citing the deep slide in JD(U)’s tally but he had been persuaded by the BJP leaders to continue as the chief Minster and therefore he finally decided to continue. He had also been promised full independence to run the government as before by the NDA.

Full Coverage of Bihar Elections :


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here