Nitish Kumar Swears-in as Next Bihar Chief Minister, RJD and Congress Boycott Ceremony

As Nitish Kumar swears-in as Bihar CM for fourth term, the Congress and RJD boycott ceremony and say its against the peoples’ mandate.

Nitish Kumar takes oaath as Bihar CM

The Bihar elections were a much anticipated and exciting political affair and now Bihar finally has its new Chief Minister.  Janata Dal (United) leader and NDA’s chief ministerial candidate Nitish Kumar finally swore in as Bihar’s new Chef Minister for the fourth term. He was sworn in as the fourth consecutive term by Governor Phagu Chauhan at the Raj Bhavan in Patna on Monday. Along with Nitish Kumar, fourteen other ministers also took oath to their offices. Deputy chief ministers are Tarikishore Prasad from the Katihar constituency and Renu Devi from the Bettiah constituency. 

Five ministers from the BJP have also taken oath in the new cabinet. 

Lok Janshakti Party president Chirag Paswan congratulated Nitish Kumar for having taken oat as the Chief Minister of Bihar and said that he hoped that he would complete a full term as the CM of the state. 

The LJP and the JD(U)have been at loggerheads during the run up to the Bihar elections and there has constantly been a tension between Chirag Paswan and Nitish Kumar. 

The RJD and the Congress boycotted the swearing in ceremony saying that the mandate is against the NDA.

 The LJP had entered into a tussle with the JD(U) when it fielded its candidates against the JD(U)in the Assembly polls and this caused a huge damage for the party’s performance in the assembly polls.

Senior leaders of the BJP including Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP President JP Nadda and party’s State in charge Bhupendra Yadav and former deputy chief minister Sushil Kumar Modi among others attended the swearing-in function which was conducted at Patna’s Raj Bhawan.

Full coverage of Bihar elections


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here